Parish: 233-3092 | School: 232-5290 | Faith Formation: 232-3514 | 2900 Hoover Avenue, Ames IA


Infant Baptism

Catholic parents wishing to have a child baptized are required to attend baptismal preparation sessions prior to their celebration of the sacrament. Non-Catholic parents are encouraged to participate in these sessions with their Catholic spouse. Baptisms are scheduled monthly, either at a Sunday parish Mass (second Sunday of the month) or outside of Mass on Sunday afternoon (third Sunday of the month).

Please visit our infant baptism page to register for baptism and schedule your class!

Youth Baptism

Children and youth over the age of seven are considered to have the capacity to understand and choose the faith for themselves. For this reason, they (instead of their parents) will undergo the necessary preparation to celebrate the sacraments of baptism, confirmation, and Eucharist in a process called the Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults with Adaptations for Children. We will work with you and your child to design a process (customized to their age and personality) to help them grow into the life of discipleship in preparation for these sacraments.

Please contact Jarrett Wendt to get started:

You may view the page on Becoming Catholic to get an idea of the general shape of the process we will use:


Adult Baptism

Adults who have never been baptized may prepare for Christian Baptism, Confirmation, and Eucharist. Christians Baptized in other Christian denominations are generally recognized to have a valid Baptism (depending on the form), and may prepare for a Profession of Faith, Confirmation, and Eucharist. All this will be discussed in the initial interview.

Please visit our Becoming Catholic page to learn about the process and to get started!


We all sin and fall short of the lives God calls us to lead.  Through the Sacrament of Reconciliation (some people use the terms Confession or Penance), we confess our sins and experience the complete forgiveness of our loving God.

Reconciliation is offered every Saturday from 3:30-4:30 pm.

At St. Cecilia’s, students in the Second Grade typically receive their First Reconciliation in mid-February following a 2-3 month preparation period. For details please contact Melissa Teggatz, Elementary Faith Formation Coordinator at

First Communion

2019 First Communion Class

The source and summit of our lives is found in the celebration of the Mass through the Liturgy of the Eucharist. It is through the Holy Eucharist that we share in Christ’s body, blood, soul and divinity under the appearance of simple bread and wine.  Here at St. Cecilia’s children in Second Grade prepare throughout the year for their First Holy Communion. First Holy Communion is typically celebrated at Mass during the first two weekends in May. If you or your child is older than Second Grade, please contact the parish office for further instruction at 515-233-3092.

At St. Cecilia’s we offer a shared approach to the preparation of the child for his/her First Holy Communion.  Students receive preparation through school religion class, traditional Faith Formation classes, Catechesis of the Good Shepherd sessions or home schooling. As well as, through guided instruction from their parents.  We prepare parents by providing materials and learning center opportunities. We are currently using the Blessed series from Dynamic Catholic for the at-home instruction.

Important Dates:

March 22nd and 23rd –  First Communion Learning Centers

Sunday, May 1st 2-4:15 OR Wednesday, May 11th 6-8:15 pm First Communion Retreat for child and parent/guardian

May 14th/15th and 21st/22nd  First Communion Masses (Families may choose which Mass their child receives his/her First Holy Communion)

Please contact Melissa Teggatz in the Faith Formation office to learn more.

Youth Confirmation

Confirmation for high school aged students typically takes place during sophomore year. There are eight classes over a period of two years, beginning in ninth grade which can also be completed through the home study option.

In addition to the four annual sessions, Confirmation candidates also attend the Journey Retreat in February.  Finally, candidates in the second year of preparation are recognized by the parish during two formal Rites at our regular weekend liturgies: the Rite of Entrance and the Rite of Covenant.  The Final Rite of Confirmation is celebrated during the Easter season each Spring for sophomore candidates who have finished their preparation.

Please visit for more information on Confirmation.

Adult Confirmation

Preparation to receive the Sacrament of Confirmation involves a journey to deepen and strengthen your Catholic faith alongside those who are Becoming Catholic.

Please visit our Becoming Catholic page to learn about the process and sign up to get started!

The Sacrament of Marriage can be celebrated at a time convenient to the couple and in accordance with the parish schedule. The date and time of the celebration must be scheduled only with a priest or deacon of the parish. Since it is necessary for the couple to participate in marriage preparation prior to their wedding, the couple must contact a priest or deacon of the parish preferably one year prior to the desired wedding date, but no less than six months prior to their desired date.

Please visit our Getting Married page to learn about the process and get started!


Anointing of the Sick is available at any time by request.  Please call the Parish Office at (515) 233-3092 to setup a time.
Communal Celebrations of this sacrament are scheduled at various times with dates and times published in the bulletin.